Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Australian Curriculum

The Australian Curriculum sets out the core knowledge, understanding, skills and general capabilities that are important for all Australian students. It describes the learning entitlements of students as a foundation for their future learning, growth and active participation in the Australian community. It makes clear what all young Australians should learn as they progress through schooling. It is the foundation for high quality teaching to meet the needs of all Australian students.
Students across Australia have a consistent curriculum in English, Mathematics, Science, HASS (Humanities and Social Sciences), The Arts, Technologies and Health and Physical Education. These will be the core learning areas every young Australian will be studying during their education from Prep to Year 10. In addition to these learning areas, schools have the flexibility to offer a range of other subjects, so that education is tailored to the needs of individual students and each school community.

Within all learning areas, there will be a focus on developing seven capabilities of students. These capabilities include skills, behaviours and dispositions that students need to develop and apply to content knowledge, and they will help them become successful learners, confident and creative individuals, and active and informed citizens. Throughout their schooling, students will develop and use these capabilities in their across the curriculum, in co-curricular programs, and in their lives outside school.
For further information, please see:



Foundation Level

Year 1 and 2

Year 3 and 4

Year 5 and 6